GSoC 2017 with KDE

apple-touch-icon-152x152

Hi! I am Rishabh. This post is going to be about what project I will be working on and how happy and excited I am about  spending the summers with KDE

First things first, I would like to thank the entire KDE community and especially my mentor  Filipe Saraiva for accepting my proposal and being kind and generous to me whenever I needed any help. I can’t stress on this enough but KDE is really a  very helpful community, especially to beginners who struggle at very basic steps.

So, this is the first time my proposal for GSoC got accepted . I am really happy and would like to make the most of this opportunity.

Project Details:

I will be working on  Cantor and will be mentored by Filipe Saraiva,  who is the maintainer of Cantor

Cantor is a KDE Application aimed to provide a nice Interface for doing Mathematics and Scientific Computing. It doesn’t implement its own Computation Logic, but instead is built around different Back ends.

The main aim of this project is to port all the back ends to make use of  standard streams for communication.

At the  moment, Cantor use different methods to communicate with the back ends. Some of them use C Api, some use D-Bus protocol and some have already been making use of Q/K process.

This project is important since this way Cantor will make use of a standard technology to implement back end and it will enable the use of Cantor in different operational systems.

If you want to know more about the project, kindly have a look at my  proposal . It lists out the current status and the implementation details.

That’s all for this post. I will keep posting the progress of my project from time to time.

Looking forward to have great summers

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

